Health and fitness

Vegan Cheese: Where To Find It & How Is It Different?

Vegan cheese is, as the name suggests, the type of cheese that is made with non-animal products. The traditional cheese as we know it is made out of dairy products. However, vegans will not buy this one.

Vegan Cheese:

The good news is that if you are a vegan, you do not have to miss some cheese on your pizza as manufacturers have taken care of that. You can buy vegan cheese and have a blast. Even fresh, homemade vegan cheese is available online for your grab.

Does vegan cheese taste the same as dairy cheese?

dairy cheese

Even the many varieties of dairy cheese, no cheese tastes the same as the other. Thus, it is hard to compare the vegan and dairy cheese based on their taste, because even the process of making the two is different. However, vegan cheese is good enough to please the taste buds of a traditional cheese connoisseur. If you are a vegan, you can be sure you are going to enjoy eating vegan cheese and the same applies even to people that love the traditional cheeses.

How is vegan cheese different from traditional cheese?

Where the traditional cheese is made of casein, which is derived from sheep, goat, cow or buffalo milk and it is then curdled with an enzyme (rennet) that is found in the stomach of these animals, vegan cheese is made of a completely different set of products.

The most common vegan cheeses are made with a mix of many ingredients, the biggest one being soy protein. This is used to make rubbery and thicker cheeses. It is perhaps the most common main ingredient of making cheese. Soy is rich in protein so its cheeses are also protein-rich.

Other ingredients used to make this cheese include vegetable oil. Specifically, this is the solidified variety of vegetable oil and the best choices are sunflower or coconut, natural enzymes, tapioca flour, vegetable glycerin, and many others. All of these ingredients are mixed with the soy protein to make these delicious cheeses.

Arrowroot, different bacterial cultures, cashews, almonds, macadamia and other nuts, pea protein, and nutritional yeast are some of the other ingredients that are used in these cheeses. If you are keen as you buy your vegan cheese, you can avoid the highly processed cheeses that not healthy and opt for the bacterially cultured vegan cheeses. These have just a few ingredients such as salt, nuts and a few others. If a vegan cheese has many ingredients, it may not be the healthy variety.

Just the same way that you can make dairy cheeses at home, you can also make your vegan cheeses at home. You can make vegan cheddar cheese. You can also make a cashew ricotta cheese and the good thing is that the ingredients required are minimal and the process is quite simple.

Vegan cheeses come in different varieties such as sliced cheeses, shredded cheeses as well as spreadable cheeses. They mimic the traditional cheeses with ricotta, mozzarella, and cheddar being the most popular.

Where to get vegan cheese?                       

You can get vegan cheeses from many places. However, you can start your search in natural food stores. You may also get your it from Whole Foods Market and Sprout’s. You can even have best cheesemaking kits and prepare cheese at home.

The type of cheese you get might also depend on where you live. Therefore, the best place to buy it is on the internet where you just place an order and have it delivered to your doorstep. Besides, when you buy cheese online, you will not be limited to just one or two varieties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.